Alaska State Flag


Welcome to Alaska and our brief overview of the The Last Frontier.

48 of the states are grouped together on the North American continent south of Canada and north of Mexico. These 48 states are referred to as the 48 "conterminous" states, the "contiguous" 48 states or, if you live in Alaska, the lower 48 states. Alaska is not one of the conterminous 48 states. It is located north of the conterminous states and occupies an area on the western border of Canada's Yukon Territory.

Alaska is the largest state and sometimes Alaskans like to point out that it is over twice as big as Texas.

Alaska among the states

  • Statehood: January 3, 1959 (49th state)
  • Abbreviations: None (traditional), AK (postal)
  • Capital: Juneau.
  • Size: 591,004 square miles, includes inland water (1st)
  • Coastline: 6,640 miles.
  • Motto: North to the future
  • State bird: Alaska willow ptarmigan (Lagopus lagopus alascensis Swarth) adopted 1955.
  • State flower: Wild native forget-me-not (Myosotis alpestris) adopted 1917.
  • State song: "Alaska's Flag", words by Marie Drake and Carol Beery Davis, music by Elinor Dusenbury.
  • State tree: Sitka spruce (Picea sitchensis) adopted 1962.

Home  Alabama  Alaska  Arizona  Arkansas  California  Colorado  Connecticut  Delaware  Florida  Georgia  Hawaii  Idaho  Illinois  Indiana  Iowa  Kansas  Kentucky  Louisiana  Maine  Maryland  Massachusetts  Michigan  Minnesota  Mississippi  Missouri  Montana  Nebraska  Nevada  New Hampshire  New Jersey  New Mexico  New York  North Carolina  North Dakota  Ohio  Oklahoma  Oregon  Pennsylvania  Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota  Tennessee  Texas  Utah  Vermont  Virginia  Washington  Washington, D.C.  West Virginia  Wisconsin  Wyoming 



Report Broken Link



Contact Us