Kansas State Flag


Welcome to Kansas and a brief overview of The Sunflower State.

The Midwestern State of Kansas is located right about in the middle of the 48 "conterminous" states. It is bordered on the north by Nebraska and on the south by Oklahoma. On the east, Kansas is bordered by Missouri and, on the west, it is bordered by Colorado.

Kansas among the states

  • Statehood: January 29, 1861 (34th state)
  • Abbreviation: Kans. or Kan. (traditional), KS (postal)
  • Capital: Topeka.
  • Size: 82,277 square miles, includes inland water (14th)
  • Coastline: None.
  • Latin motto: Ad astra per aspera (To the stars with difficulty)
  • State bird: Western meadow lark (Sturnella neglecta) adopted 1937.
  • State flower: Wild native sunflower (Helianthus) adopted 1903.
  • State song: "Home On the Range", words by Dr. Brewster Higley, music by Dan Kelly, adopted 1947.
  • State tree: Cottonwood, adopted 1937.

Home  Alabama  Alaska  Arizona  Arkansas  California  Colorado  Connecticut  Delaware  Florida  Georgia  Hawaii  Idaho  Illinois  Indiana  Iowa  Kansas  Kentucky  Louisiana  Maine  Maryland  Massachusetts  Michigan  Minnesota  Mississippi  Missouri  Montana  Nebraska  Nevada  New Hampshire  New Jersey  New Mexico  New York  North Carolina  North Dakota  Ohio  Oklahoma  Oregon  Pennsylvania  Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota  Tennessee  Texas  Utah  Vermont  Virginia  Washington  Washington, D.C.  West Virginia  Wisconsin  Wyoming 



Report Broken Link



Contact Us