Maine State Flag


Welcome to Maine and a brief overview of The Pine Tree State.

The largest of the New England States, Maine is located in the northeastern corner of the 48 "conterminous" states. The northern part of Maine is bordered by Canada on the north, the east, and west. The southern part of Maine is bordered by the Gulf of Maine and the Atlantic Ocean on the east and by New Hampshire on the south and the west.

The small peninsula of West Quoddy Head is the easternmost part of the United States.

Maine among the states

  • Statehood: March 15, 1820 (23rd state)
  • Abbreviation: Me. (traditional), ME (postal)
  • Capital: Augusta.
  • Size: 33,265 square miles, includes inland water (39th)
  • Coastline: 228 miles.
  • Latin motto: Dirigo (I direct or I guide)
  • State bird: Chickadee (Penthestes atricapillus) adopted 1927.
  • State flower: Pine cone and tassel (Pinus strobus) adopted 1895.
  • State song: "State of Maine Song", words and music by Roger Vinton Snow, adopted 1937.
  • State tree: White pine (Pinus strobus) adopted 1945.

Home  Alabama  Alaska  Arizona  Arkansas  California  Colorado  Connecticut  Delaware  Florida  Georgia  Hawaii  Idaho  Illinois  Indiana  Iowa  Kansas  Kentucky  Louisiana  Maine  Maryland  Massachusetts  Michigan  Minnesota  Mississippi  Missouri  Montana  Nebraska  Nevada  New Hampshire  New Jersey  New Mexico  New York  North Carolina  North Dakota  Ohio  Oklahoma  Oregon  Pennsylvania  Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota  Tennessee  Texas  Utah  Vermont  Virginia  Washington  Washington, D.C.  West Virginia  Wisconsin  Wyoming 



Report Broken Link



Contact Us