Mississippi State Flag


Welcome to Mississippi and a brief overview of The Magnolia State.

A Southern State, Mississippi is located in the southern part of the 48 "conterminous" states on the Gulf of Mexico. Mississippi is bordered on the north by Tennessee and on the south by the Gulf of Mexico. The Magnolia State is bordered on the east by Alabama and on the west by Arkansas and Louisiana.

The Mississippi River forms Mississippi's western border with Arkansas and northern Louisiana.

Mississippi among the states

  • Statehood: December 10, 1817 (20th state)
  • Abbreviation: Miss. (traditional), MS (postal)
  • Capital: Jackson.
  • Size: 47,689 square miles, includes inland water (32nd)
  • Coastline: 44 miles.
  • Latin motto: Virtute et armis (By valor and arms)
  • State bird: Mockingbird (Mimus polyglottos) adopted 1944.
  • State flower: Magnolia blossom (Magnolia grandiflora) adopted 1952.
  • State song: "Go, Mississippi", words and music by William Houston Davis, adopted 1962.
  • State tree: Magnolia (Magnolia grandiflora) adopted 1938.

Home  Alabama  Alaska  Arizona  Arkansas  California  Colorado  Connecticut  Delaware  Florida  Georgia  Hawaii  Idaho  Illinois  Indiana  Iowa  Kansas  Kentucky  Louisiana  Maine  Maryland  Massachusetts  Michigan  Minnesota  Mississippi  Missouri  Montana  Nebraska  Nevada  New Hampshire  New Jersey  New Mexico  New York  North Carolina  North Dakota  Ohio  Oklahoma  Oregon  Pennsylvania  Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota  Tennessee  Texas  Utah  Vermont  Virginia  Washington  Washington, D.C.  West Virginia  Wisconsin  Wyoming 



Report Broken Link



Contact Us