Missouri State Flag


Welcome to Missouri and a brief overview of The Show Me State.

The Midwestern State of Missouri is located in the east central 48 "conterminous" states. It's bordered on the north by Iowa and on the south by Arkansas. Missouri is bordered on the east by Illinois, Kentucky, and Tennessee and on the west by Nebraska, Kansas, and Oklahoma.

Missouri among the states

  • Statehood: August 10, 1821 (24th state)
  • Abbreviation: Mo. (traditional), MO (postal)
  • Capital: Jefferson City.
  • Size: 69,697 square miles, includes inland water (19th)
  • Coastline: None.
  • Latin motto: Salus populi suprema lex esto (The welfare of the people shall be the supreme law)
  • State bird: Bluebird (Sialia sialis) adopted 1927.
  • State flower: Hawthorn blossom (Crataegus) adopted 1923.
  • State song: "Missouri Waltz", arranged by Frederick Knight Logan from a melody by John Valentine Eppel, with lyrics by J. R. Shannon, adopted 1949.
  • State tree: Flowering dogwood (Cornus florida) adopted 1955.

Home  Alabama  Alaska  Arizona  Arkansas  California  Colorado  Connecticut  Delaware  Florida  Georgia  Hawaii  Idaho  Illinois  Indiana  Iowa  Kansas  Kentucky  Louisiana  Maine  Maryland  Massachusetts  Michigan  Minnesota  Mississippi  Missouri  Montana  Nebraska  Nevada  New Hampshire  New Jersey  New Mexico  New York  North Carolina  North Dakota  Ohio  Oklahoma  Oregon  Pennsylvania  Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota  Tennessee  Texas  Utah  Vermont  Virginia  Washington  Washington, D.C.  West Virginia  Wisconsin  Wyoming 



Report Broken Link



Contact Us