New York State Flag

New York

Welcome to New York and a brief overview of The Empire State.

One of three Middle Atlantic States, New York is located in the northeastern part of the 48 "conterminous" states west of and south of the New England States. It's bordered by Lake Erie, Lake Ontario, and Canada on the north and Pennsylvania and New Jersey on the south. New York is bordered by Vermont, Massachusetts, and Connecticut on the east and by Lake Erie and a part of Pennsylvania on the west.

A large New York island, Long Island, ejects itself east into the Atlantic Ocean below Connecticut. The southern shore of Connecticut and the northern shore of Long Island are separated by Long Island Sound.

New York among the states

  • Statehood: July 26, 1788 (11th state)
  • Abbreviation: N.Y. (traditional), NY (postal)
  • Capital: Albany.
  • Size: 49,108 square miles, includes inland water (30th)
  • Coastline: 127 miles.
  • Latin motto: Excelsior (Ever upward).
  • State bird: Bluebird (Sialia sialis) adopted 1970.
  • State flower: Rose (Rosa) adopted 1955.
  • State song: None.
  • State tree: Sugar maple (Acer Saccharum) adopted 1956.

Home  Alabama  Alaska  Arizona  Arkansas  California  Colorado  Connecticut  Delaware  Florida  Georgia  Hawaii  Idaho  Illinois  Indiana  Iowa  Kansas  Kentucky  Louisiana  Maine  Maryland  Massachusetts  Michigan  Minnesota  Mississippi  Missouri  Montana  Nebraska  Nevada  New Hampshire  New Jersey  New Mexico  New York  North Carolina  North Dakota  Ohio  Oklahoma  Oregon  Pennsylvania  Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota  Tennessee  Texas  Utah  Vermont  Virginia  Washington  Washington, D.C.  West Virginia  Wisconsin  Wyoming 



Report Broken Link



Contact Us