Oklahoma State Flag


Welcome to Oklahoma and a brief overview of The Sooner State.

Oklahoma is located to the south of the central part of the 48 "conterminous" states. This Southwestern State is bordered on the north by Colorado and Kansas and on the south by Texas. Oklahoma is bordered on the east by Missouri and Arkansas and on the west by New Mexico and the Texas panhandle.

Oklahoma among the states

  • Statehood: November 16, 1907 (46th state)
  • Abbreviation: Okla. (traditional), OK (postal)
  • Capital: Oklahoma City.
  • Size: 69,956 square miles, includes inland water (18th)
  • Coastline: None.
  • Latin Motto: Labor omnia vincit (Love conquers all things)
  • State bird: Scissor-tailed flycatcher (Muscivora forficata) adopted 1951.
  • State flower: Oklahoma rose (Rosa) adopted 2004.
  • State songs:
    • "Oklahoma!", words by Oscar Hammerstein II, music by Richard Rogers, adopted 1953.
    • "Faded Love", words and music by John Wills and Bob Wills, adopted 1988.
    • "Oklahoma, My Native Land", words and music by Martha Kemm Barrett, adopted 1996.
    • "Oklamoma Hills", words and music by Woody and Jack Guthrie, adopted 2001.
  • State tree: Redbud (Cercis canadensis) adopted 1937.

Home  Alabama  Alaska  Arizona  Arkansas  California  Colorado  Connecticut  Delaware  Florida  Georgia  Hawaii  Idaho  Illinois  Indiana  Iowa  Kansas  Kentucky  Louisiana  Maine  Maryland  Massachusetts  Michigan  Minnesota  Mississippi  Missouri  Montana  Nebraska  Nevada  New Hampshire  New Jersey  New Mexico  New York  North Carolina  North Dakota  Ohio  Oklahoma  Oregon  Pennsylvania  Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota  Tennessee  Texas  Utah  Vermont  Virginia  Washington  Washington, D.C.  West Virginia  Wisconsin  Wyoming 



Report Broken Link



Contact Us