Oregon State Flag


Welcome to Oregon and a brief overview of The Beaver State.

One of the three Pacific Coast States, Oregon is located on the western coast of the 48 "conterminous" states. It's bordered by Washington on the north and California and Nevada on the south. Oregon is bordered by Idaho on the east and the Pacific Ocean on the west.

Oregon among the states

  • Statehood: February 4, 1859 (33rd state)
  • Abbreviation: Ore. or Oreg. (traditional), OR (postal)
  • Capital: Salem.
  • Size: 97,073 square miles, includes inland water (10th)
  • Coastline: 296 miles.
  • Latin Motto: Alis volat propriis (She flies with her own wings)
  • State bird: Western meadowlark (Sturnella neglecta) adopted 1927.
  • State flower: Oregon grape (Berberis aquifolium) adopted 1899.
  • State song: "Oregon, My Oregon", words by J.A. Buchanan, music by Henry B. Murtagh, adopted 1927.
  • State tree: Douglas fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii) adopted 1939.

Home  Alabama  Alaska  Arizona  Arkansas  California  Colorado  Connecticut  Delaware  Florida  Georgia  Hawaii  Idaho  Illinois  Indiana  Iowa  Kansas  Kentucky  Louisiana  Maine  Maryland  Massachusetts  Michigan  Minnesota  Mississippi  Missouri  Montana  Nebraska  Nevada  New Hampshire  New Jersey  New Mexico  New York  North Carolina  North Dakota  Ohio  Oklahoma  Oregon  Pennsylvania  Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota  Tennessee  Texas  Utah  Vermont  Virginia  Washington  Washington, D.C.  West Virginia  Wisconsin  Wyoming 



Report Broken Link



Contact Us