Our Presidents

Presidential Coin Program

Coin Program Facts

United States Flag

Coin Program Facts

Presidential Coin Edges
U.S. Mint Image

Presidential $1.00 Coin Program Facts

  • There are no plans to phase our or eliminate the dollar bill.
  • The United States Mint will continue to produce the Sacagawea Golden Dollar along with the new Presidential $1 Coins.
  • Each president will be honored with a single $1 coin, regardless of the number of consecutive terms served. Grover Cleveland, the only U.S. president to serve non-consecutive terms, will be honored with two coins.
  • The inscriptions that have been moved to the edge are "E Pluribus Unum" and "In God We Trust," the year of minting or issuance, and the mint mark, making these coins unique among today’s U.S. circulating coins. Note: With the release of the William Henry Harrison coin in 2009, "In God We Trust" will appear on the obverse of all coins instead of the edge.

Source: The United States Mint, www.usmint.gov, February 21, 2007

U.S. Mint Press Releases

Home  Alabama  Alaska  Arizona  Arkansas  California  Colorado  Connecticut  Delaware  Florida  Georgia  Hawaii  Idaho  Illinois  Indiana  Iowa  Kansas  Kentucky  Louisiana  Maine  Maryland  Massachusetts  Michigan  Minnesota  Mississippi  Missouri  Montana  Nebraska  Nevada  New Hampshire  New Jersey  New Mexico  New York  North Carolina  North Dakota  Ohio  Oklahoma  Oregon  Pennsylvania  Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota  Tennessee  Texas  Utah  Vermont  Virginia  Washington  Washington, D.C.  West Virginia  Wisconsin  Wyoming 



Report Broken Link



Contact Us