Our Presidents

Presidential Coin Program

Coin Program Facts

June 15, 2007
All press releases

2007 United States Mint Presidential $1 Coin Proof Set Available June 21

WASHINGTON - The United States Mint today announced that the official United States Mint Presidential $1 Coin Proof Set, containing the new Presidential $1 Coins honoring George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison, will be available beginning at noon on June 21, 2007, for $14.95.

This set contains the first four Presidential $1 Coins, all struck multiple times with specially polished dies to create the brilliant, sharp relief and mirror-like background of a proof coin. Their frosted, sculpted foregrounds give them a special "cameo" effect, created by the exacting proof process.

To order the 2007 United States Mint Presidential $1 Coin Proof Set online, visit the United States Mint's secure website at http://catalog.usmint.gov. To order by telephone, call 1-800-USA-MINT (872-6468). Hearing- and speech-impaired customers with TTY equipment may order by calling 1-888-321-MINT (6468).

There is no mintage limit, and no order limit for the 2007 United States Mint Presidential $1 Coin Proof Set. As an added convenience, customers can participate in the United States Mint Online Subscription Program in which specific products, such as the United States Mint Presidential $1 Coin Proof Set, are charged and shipped automatically as each set is released. A shipping and handling fee of $4.95 per order will be added to all orders. Please allow approximately two to three weeks for delivery.

Congress authorized and the President signed the Presidential $1 Coin Act of 2005 (Act). The Act requires the Secretary of the Treasury to mint and issue $1 coins honoring the United States Presidents in the order in which they served, with four new designs annually.

Each President will be honored with a single Presidential $1 Coin, regardless of the number of consecutive terms he served, except for Grover Cleveland, the only United States President to serve non-consecutive terms. He will be honored on two coins. No living, former or current President can be honored on a coin.

Press inquiries: Michael White (202) 354-7222
Customer Service information: (800) USA MINT (872-6468)

Home  Alabama  Alaska  Arizona  Arkansas  California  Colorado  Connecticut  Delaware  Florida  Georgia  Hawaii  Idaho  Illinois  Indiana  Iowa  Kansas  Kentucky  Louisiana  Maine  Maryland  Massachusetts  Michigan  Minnesota  Mississippi  Missouri  Montana  Nebraska  Nevada  New Hampshire  New Jersey  New Mexico  New York  North Carolina  North Dakota  Ohio  Oklahoma  Oregon  Pennsylvania  Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota  Tennessee  Texas  Utah  Vermont  Virginia  Washington  Washington, D.C.  West Virginia  Wisconsin  Wyoming 



Report Broken Link



Contact Us