Our Presidents

Presidential Coin Program

Coin Program Facts

November 20, 2006
All press releases

United States Mint Unveils Designs of New Circulating Presidential $1 Coins

Historic Change On The Way

Washington, DC — United States Mint Director Edmund C. Moy; Louise Roseman, Director of Reserve Bank Operations and Payments Systems at the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve; and other Federal officials provided a first glimpse of a new series of circulating Presidential $1 Coins at a design unveiling ceremony held today at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Portrait Gallery. The $1 coins are being introduced as a result of the Presidential Coin Act of 2005, which requires the United States Mint to mint the dollar coins commemorating the service of former United States Presidents in the order in which they served.

Like the United States Mint’s successful 50 State Quarters® Program on which it was modeled, the Presidential $1 Coin Program features a systematically rotating design. The first four $1 coins will commemorate George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison.

"The new Presidential $1 Coins are an educational and fun way to learn about former Presidents, " said Director Moy. "Our research indicates that, like the 50 State Quarters coins, the Presidential $1 Coins will be popular with millions of Americans."

According to a study commissioned by the United States Mint, about half of all Americans are interested in collecting the Presidential $1 Coins – but their appeal does not end with collecting.

"Congress recognized that the 50 State Quarters Program showed how a systematically changing design can spark public interest in a coin and we’re hoping to build on that success," Director Moy said.

Traditional Subjects, Unique Design

The designs of the coins are bold and dramatic, with traditional inscriptions moved to the edge to allow for larger images of the Presidents. These include "E Pluribus Unum" and "In God We Trust," the year of minting or issuance, and the mint mark, making these coins unique among today’s U.S. circulating coins.

The new Presidential $1 Coins are identical in color and size to the Sacagawea Golden Dollar Coins, and have the same distinctive rim and tactile features to assist the visually impaired. Additionally, the new $1 coins carry the same electromagnetic signature as both the Sacagawea Golden Dollar coin and the Susan B. Anthony dollar coin, making them readily acceptable in vending machines that currently accept dollar coins.

The face of each coin will feature an image of a former President and the years of his term of office. The reverse of the coin shows an image of the Statue of Liberty and the inscriptions "The United States of America" and "$1."

For downloadable images of the new Presidential $1 Coins, please click here.

Distributed through Banks and Other Financial Institutions

The United States Mint and the Federal Reserve System are working in partnership to make it easy for businesses and members of the general public to obtain the new coins as they are released. The Presidential $1 Coins will be shipped to banks and other financial institutions in rolls, unmixed with other dollar coins. For each new design, banks may order and store the coins up to two weeks prior to the introduction so they will have supplies on hand on the release date. The coins will be available in unmixed rolls for four weeks after the introduction of each design. When each new Presidential $1 Coin is released, the special ordering process begins again.

Presidential Dollar Coin Release Schedule

Each President will be honored with a single $1 coin, regardless of the number of consecutive terms he served. Grover Cleveland, the only United States President to serve non-consecutive terms, will be honored on two coins. No living former or current President can be honored on a coin.

For more information on the new Presidential $1 Coins, go to www.usmint.gov/$1coin.

Press inquiries: Michael White (202) 354-7222
Customer Service information: (800) USA MINT (872-6468)

Home  Alabama  Alaska  Arizona  Arkansas  California  Colorado  Connecticut  Delaware  Florida  Georgia  Hawaii  Idaho  Illinois  Indiana  Iowa  Kansas  Kentucky  Louisiana  Maine  Maryland  Massachusetts  Michigan  Minnesota  Mississippi  Missouri  Montana  Nebraska  Nevada  New Hampshire  New Jersey  New Mexico  New York  North Carolina  North Dakota  Ohio  Oklahoma  Oregon  Pennsylvania  Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota  Tennessee  Texas  Utah  Vermont  Virginia  Washington  Washington, D.C.  West Virginia  Wisconsin  Wyoming 



Report Broken Link



Contact Us