Tennessee State Flag


Welcome to Tennessee and a brief overview of The Volunteer State.

One of the Southern States, Tennessee is located in the southeastern part of the 48 "conterminous" states. It's bordered on the north by Kentucky and Virginia and on the south by Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, and North Carolina. Tennesee is bordered on the east by North Carolina and on the west by Missouri and Arkansas.

Tennessee's western border is formed by the Mississippi River.

Tennessee among the states

  • Statehood: June 1, 1796 (16th state)
  • Abbreviation: Tenn. (traditional), TN (postal)
  • Capital: Nashville.
  • Size: 42,114 square miles, includes inland water (34th)
  • Coastline: None.
  • Motto: Agriculture and Commerce.
  • State bird: Mockingbird (Mimus polyglottos) adopted 1933.
  • State flowers:
    • Passion Flower (Passiflora incarnata) adopted 1919.
    • Iris (Genus Iridaceae) adopted 1933.
  • State songs:
  • State tree: Tulip Poplar (Liriodendron tulipifera) adopted 1947.

Home  Alabama  Alaska  Arizona  Arkansas  California  Colorado  Connecticut  Delaware  Florida  Georgia  Hawaii  Idaho  Illinois  Indiana  Iowa  Kansas  Kentucky  Louisiana  Maine  Maryland  Massachusetts  Michigan  Minnesota  Mississippi  Missouri  Montana  Nebraska  Nevada  New Hampshire  New Jersey  New Mexico  New York  North Carolina  North Dakota  Ohio  Oklahoma  Oregon  Pennsylvania  Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota  Tennessee  Texas  Utah  Vermont  Virginia  Washington  Washington, D.C.  West Virginia  Wisconsin  Wyoming 



Report Broken Link



Contact Us