Vermont State Flag


Welcome to Vermont and a brief overview of The Green Mountain State.

One of the six New England States, Vermont is located in the northeast corner of the 48 "conterminous" states. It's bordered by Canada on the north and Massachusetts on the south. Vermont is bordered by New Hampshire on the east and New York on the west.

Vermont's eastern border with New Hampshire is formed by the Connecticut River.

Vermont among the states

  • Statehood: March 4, 1791 (14th state)
  • Abbreviation: Vt. (traditional), VT (postal)
  • Capital: Montpelier.
  • Size: 9,614 square miles, includes inland water (43rd)
  • Coastline: None.
  • Motto: Freedom and Unity.
  • State bird: Hermit thrush (Catharus guttatus) adopted 1941.
  • State flower: Red clover (Trifolium pratense) adopted 1894.
  • State song: "These Green Mountains", words and music by Diane Martin, adopted 1999.
  • State tree: Sugar maple (Acer saccharum) adopted 1949.

Home  Alabama  Alaska  Arizona  Arkansas  California  Colorado  Connecticut  Delaware  Florida  Georgia  Hawaii  Idaho  Illinois  Indiana  Iowa  Kansas  Kentucky  Louisiana  Maine  Maryland  Massachusetts  Michigan  Minnesota  Mississippi  Missouri  Montana  Nebraska  Nevada  New Hampshire  New Jersey  New Mexico  New York  North Carolina  North Dakota  Ohio  Oklahoma  Oregon  Pennsylvania  Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota  Tennessee  Texas  Utah  Vermont  Virginia  Washington  Washington, D.C.  West Virginia  Wisconsin  Wyoming 



Report Broken Link



Contact Us